startingnw

My new life is starting now

First Fail

on August 24, 2013

ImageToday was a stressful day for me. I have spent the majority of the day in a bad mood due to failing our first med calc quiz. I was very confident in my medication dosing and FAILED. The test is ten questions and I got one wrong, a very easy one! We have two more chances to pass, but I’m just super bummed that I did not attain passing on the first quiz. I know I shouldn’t be hard on myself, but it’s still disappointing.

 Next Tuesday is our first overall quiz, and I’m excited for that as well. In lab we’ve been going over head to toe assessments. We have a partner who we practice doing the Head to toe, then we switch and they do it on us. I’m slowly getting the groove of things. It’s ALOT of information to get in, retain and use, but I know with repetition and time I will get it. The cranial nerves go along with that and are tricking me right now. I know WHAT I need to do and HOW to do it, just for the practicum and during the course I need to verbalize what I am doing, and that for me will be tricky. I have to say what I am doing, why I’m doing it and what normal/abnormal findings of such would be. I guess the whole multitasking act of DOING and SAYING is what is getting me.

 

 

Three weeks into our nursing program and we have two more days of 8am to 4pm. Next Thursday and Friday  we will be at labs from 8am to 4pm and following that it will only be four hours WAHOO! Starting September our schedule will be Tuesday four hours of lecture, Wednesdays 12 hour clinicals at the SNF, and Thursday four hours of lab. That kind of schedule is much easier for me so I look forward to it.

Leave a Reply

